Women in media to look up to

15 Nov

So far I have been discussing the negative attributes in regard to women portrayals in media. This time I would like to concentrate on some role models in the media that encourage us to think positively. Especially I would like to concentrate on Hillary Clinton, Oprah Winfrey, Angela Merkel, and in the conclusion I would like to mention my mother, who is a former diplomat and the leader of the European Union in Latvia, and a strong role model for me as I start my career as a television journalist.

Hillary Clinton

 

Was born in 1947 in Illinois, and is the US Secretary of State, working for the US President Barack Obama. Hillary is a Senator, lawyer and the former first lady when her husband Bill Clinton was the President of the United States of America. She also run for US presidency. Hillary has a positive media image, no scandals (excluding her husband’s affair), and is an extraordinary personality. Furthermore, Hillary has worked her whole life in order to reach what she has reached. Hillary Clinton is a charming, intelligent woman with a good taste and lots in her pocket.

Hillary Clinton Biography

 

 

 

Oprah Winfrey 

Born in 1954 in Mississippi US. Oprah is a top TV host, and the wealthiest and most successful Black African-American woman on earth. From her young age Oprah has been working towards her goal – to become a successful broadcaster. She worked as a journalist in high school, later as a broadcaster for television channels. Nowadays Oprah has reached her dream, and is a world – wide recognized start in the media business. Oprah is somebody to look up to, especially in the media business, and one of my idols as I become a journalist.

 

 

Angela Merkel

She is the “Bundeskanzler” of Germany, or the German stateswoman, chancellor, and “is also the first former citizen of the German Democratic Republic to lead the reunited Germany and the first woman to lead Germany since it became a modern nation-state in 1871.” (4) Merkel has a PhD in physics and runs the chancellor office after winning the second election period. Merkel has been interested in politics for quite some time, she joined the Christian Democratic Union party (CDU) in 1990, from then she has been active for Germany’s goals as well as European Union and world goals, helping smaller and new members of the EU to integrate. Angela is the first female leader in German politics and is believed to have changed Germany to the positive.

 

 

 

 

Iveta Šulca

Born in Riga, Latvia in 1964, Iveta obtained two Master’s degrees in Political Sciences and Economics at the Latvian Univeristy. Iveta has worked for the Latvian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, later as a diplomat in Germany, Czech Republic and Crotatia bein the extraordinary Ambassador of Latvia. From 2006,

Iveta is leading the European Union in Latvia, and has helped Latvia and the Latvian society to grow as a part of the European Union.Iveta is my mother, and a female idol for my personal goals. When I was smaller I used to say “if I reach half of what my mother ha

s reached, I will be proud of myself”. This attitude I have kept till nowadays.

 

 

 

 

These women are strong role models for any girl or woman growing up into a confident personality. These women personify strong personalities, and present the opposite to the world of what is typically being shown by the mass media in regard to the personification of a woman. With respect, I can say that I am extremely proud, not only of my mother, but of all women who live in our society and prove that intelligence and style do fit together, and that a woman is much more than just an object.

As I continue my career in television news journalism, I keep these female role models in my head.

Charlotte Schulz

Latvian News Channel Journalist

 

 

 

 

 

Works Cited:

1. Diane Rodham. Hillary Clinton Biography. http://www.biography.com/articles/Hillary-Clinton-9251306

2. Youtube.com. Hillary Clinton Bio. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxM5PI-MWYk

3. Woopidoo. Oprah Winfrey Biography. http://www.woopidoo.com/biography/oprah-winfrey.htm

4. Angela Merkel Biography. http://www.biography.com/articles/Angela-Merkel-9406424


6 Responses to “Women in media to look up to”

  1. liberatingdesiree November 17, 2010 at 4:07 PM #

    In regards to Oprah and Hillary, what’s your opinion on the media’s focus on their personal lives? Do you think women of prominence and stature in other countries have this same problem, or is it strictly America’s obsession?
    I personally feel as though these women are targeted because they are in a position of strength and it’s the medias way of knocking them down a few pegs. The media, unfortunately, serves as a reminder that no matter who you are, how powerful you are, we all have secrets and people want to know about it. I, for one, find it disgusting and often find myself comparing the way women in these positions are treated versus men in similar situations.

    • WOMEN, SEX AND THE MEDIA November 18, 2010 at 7:31 PM #

      In regard to Hillary and Oprah, my opinion is that their private lives are more protected and respected due to the fact that these women are ‘intellectual’ targets. Otherwise than most of Hollywood actors or singers, who often shine with their image and body than intelligence. Regarding other countries, I purposely added a German and Latvian intellectual women, where the situation is similar. These women play great roles around the world, and these roles are played with their brains and not “buts”. 🙂

      Regarding private lives and secrets, I think that the society and media, including paparazzi are more interested in US stars such as Angelina Jolie or Britney Spears.

  2. melissav76 November 21, 2010 at 12:02 AM #

    I like how you portray the positive women in the media…so much of it IS negative these days! I personally like Hillary and think she is a great role model! She fights for women’s rights, she respects single mothers and I feel like she is on our side, and she does a lot of work with children. While I do like some of the things that Oprah does, and stands for, I feel like she has taken the fame and fortune and applied it to her ego (at times). I also think it’s awesome that you have such a good role model in your mother; that’s VERY important for a girl! While my own mothr was a strong role model in some ways, she was lacking in others; so I have tried to take the places that she lacked in and turn them into strengths for my own daughters.
    One person who was not mentioned here, and is controversial of course, is Sarah Palin. I personally love her attitude and her outlook on life! I know she is not popular with a lot of people…but I feel like she was comfortable enough to just put everything out there (in her personal life) for the world to see, and I respect that. She’s a real person, and a real mom, and I like that about her!

    • Charlotte Schulz November 21, 2010 at 3:33 PM #

      Hey! Thanks for your comment and feedback. I agree with you on oprah, nevertheless I think she has done a great job for all the women, and especially Black women in our society.
      When speaking about Sarah Palin, I must admit that I am not a fan of her, therefore I did not include her in my writing. Sarah Palin might represent a female role model, nevertheless, I have noticed some main character flaws of her. Which are not acceptable for me. 🙂

  3. cconawa November 23, 2010 at 10:43 PM #

    Very interesting, but at least the two American women have had press interest in their personal lives. I don’t read the supermarket tabloids, but I see Winfrey’s longtime companion Stedman Graham on the covers quite frequently and the Clintons’ marriage is a frequent topic of discussion even in more mainstream and respectable papers. Why do you think the media cares so much?

    I am glad you have such a great role model and that your career is taking off.

    • WOMEN, SEX AND THE MEDIA November 23, 2010 at 11:51 PM #

      Well, of course the media cares about Oprah or Hillary, but I think the media representation of those women is different – more respectable than of actors or musicians. Why? Well, first of all, both women keep a rather private file opposite to Britney Spears or other stars. However, the media likes to dig and find, and of course there is always something to find e,g, Hillary’s marriage problems. I think that the media cares about every person that the society seems to care about since the job of the media is to deliver interesting information. And as those women become public in their careers, the society’s interest in them increases. Through this the media (rather yellow press journalists and paparazzi) try to find anything to talk about those people. The media would never report some drama about a person that is not known to the society (excluding murder and so , of course).

Leave a Reply

